Too busy to brew? Brew at work!

I have been really busy lately. The day to day running of the store takes up a lot of time. Generally on my day off I have chores that take precedence over brewing. Hows that for irony? I manage a homebrew store and I can’t even brew beer! Dammit! I want to brew beer.

Wait a minute, I’m the boss. I’ll just brew at the store! I’ll put on all grain brewing demos!

So it started, I lugged all my equipment to the store. Great huh? Nothing beats brewing at work!

brewsystem

Moving my entire brewery to the store was definitely a challenge. The logistics of my brewing process had to be adapted for a different environment. The good news is when you forget something for brew day and you’re at a homebrew store it’s not a big deal!

I wanted to brew a few batches to get use to the new location before making an official announcement. So I brewed up a porter, just for some practice.

porterwort

Delicious sweet porter wort!

The brew day for the porter had a few glitches. I got started late and it was something like 90 degrees out that day. I miscalculated my strike temperature and mashed in too high. Instead of cooling it down I decided to just mash at a higher temp. Porters need body, right? The heat must have fried my brain because that turned out to be a bad choice. I completely missed my numbers for my preboil gravity. It was so bad that I added some DME  to get my numbers back up. Crisis averted!

The boil went well, no serious issues there. I’m proud to say that I have boiling wort, down pat! After the boil, even with the use of a wort chiller, cooling the wort took forever. I have since installed a pre-chiller.

Of course in my heat induced brain fog I never thought about how the hell am I gonna get 12 gallons of wort from outside to the kitchen in the back. I wound up using a bucket with a spigot and making several trips. The spigot was necessary so I could pump the wort into my conical.

conical

Pretty sweet huh?

After a long brew day the wort was finally in the fermentor, but it was at 80 degrees! AAHHHH! OK I’m done, it is 9:30 at night I’ve been at work for 11 hours I’m going home! So I set the temperature controller and left. I’ll pitch yeast in the morning.

Well I learned a lot and the porter was fantastic! We served a bunch up tailgating at a Railhawks game. It was a lot of fun!

After that I brewed up a sour black ale with my friends from Sam’s Quik Shop. That brew day went a lot better. The pre-chiller was awesome and I learned that transferring wort in kegs is easier than buckets!

That should be enough practice so I announced the first brew demo. A German wheat beer called Wheatpeat. It was great, several folks showed up to help brew.brewdayKen even brought some homemade Sassafras Cider! It was delicious!

I learned a bunch about how to teach during a brewing demonstration. I hope that the participants learned a lot about all grain brewing.

The Wheatpeat tastes pretty good, but the fermentor is empty now, so it’s on to make another beer….

 

This entry was posted in Beer Making and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

