Conveying the brewing experience

If you homebrew, you know how much fun it can be. There are so many great aspects to it.  Designing a new recipe, getting together to brew beer with your friends, sharing bottles of your creation with others.  It’s all wonderful stuff.

When we were at the beer fest, we talked a lot about how easy it is to brew your own beer.  That’s the truth, it’s not that hard.  However, I recently sat down to put together a write-up explaining the whole process and it was a lot more challenging than I thought it would be.  I’d compare it to any other kind of art… you can’t just read something and *boom* you’re an artist.  It takes some one-on-one time with someone who can guide you.

I think that’s how most homebrewers start.  That’s how I started… by going to someone’s house who homebrewed, watching it a few times,participating more and more, and then eventually buying my own gear and being able to brew beer myself.  I don’t know that I could have ever figured it out if I hadn’t been around someone else who already knew how to do it.

So there’s our challenge as a homebrew store.  How do we get people who have never homebrewed before to be able to do it? It’s like I want to be able to just mind-meld with people and let them absorb the process.  Until that can happen, though, we’re doing all that we can to get new (or non) homebrewers comfortable with the process.  We’ve got our first class/event, we’re planning videos and several other things to get people comfortable enough with the brewing that they feel they can successfully make a batch of beer.

It’s important, as experienced homebrewers, to give encouragement to people who are new to it.  As a beginner, the whole process can be a challenge.  Even now, after three years at this, I still am learning new things with every batch I make. It’s my goal to find a way to get new beermakers up and brewing in as little time as possible.  Remember having that first taste of success in your beer?  I want everyone who picks up a kit for the first time to feel that.

We’ll get there, one step at a time.

This entry was posted in About Us. Bookmark the permalink.